Main Page: Titles of European hereditary rulers

A list of geographical names in titles might not inform us about actual estates of their owners. Some rulers possessed none of the territories mentioned in their titles:

The titles of Queen Joan II of Naples in the 15th century:

King of Hungary, Jerusalem, Sicily, Dalmatia, Croatia, Rama, Serbia, Galicia, Lodomeria, Cumania, Bulgaria;

Count of Provence, Forcalquier, Piedmont;



The titles the Margraves of Bayreuth in the 18th century:

Margrave of Brandenburg;

Duke in Prussia, of Silesia, Magdeburg, Kleve, Jülich, Berg, Szczecin, Pomerania, the Kashubians, the Wends, Mecklenburg, Krosno;

Burgrave of Nuremberg;

Prince of Halberstadt, Minden, Kamien, the Wends, Schwerin, Ratzeburg, Mörs;

Count of Klodzko, Hohenzollern, the Mark, Ravensberg, Schwerin,

Lord of Ravenstein, the Lands of Rostock, Stargard;